Surgeon
    Dr. Thomas Umbach
    Last Activity
    06-19-2015 12:45 PM
    Said "Thanks" 52 Times
    Was Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
    Said "Welcome to Gastric Sleeve" 3 Times

Smile Uncontrollable cravings/binge eating

I'm not certain where to go in order to combat my cravings. It's been two and a half years since my surgery, and I've been really happy with my results. However, due to stress in regards to finishing my degree (I'm a student teacher), a knee injury that reyaired surgery, and the resulting loss of my job because of the knee surgery, I've been extremely craving-hungry.

I don't know how to explain it sinply, but I don't feel hungry. I haven't since my surgery (I feel empty when I actually need to eat, but I don't eel compelled to fill up), but I will crave. My brain will demand and demand food, whether my stomach is full or not. Since New years I've put on nearly ten pounds. I know that isn't much but I really fear getting so heavy again.

Anyways: I don't know how to address my cravings. I eat when I'm upset or bored, and even when I try to distract myself, I feel it. I was exercising more before my knee was hurt, but I can't do much of anything now, even post-op. Even low impact exercuses are restricted until the cartilage in my knee reattaches to the bone.

Does anyone have advice on what I can do? Having healthy snacks like snap peas and fruit and orotein drinks staves it off, but that feels like a band aid and not a solution. I don't want my stomach to stretch out any more than it has, and I don't want to be morbidly obese again.

Sorry if this was rambly!

Heaviest Weight: 314
    Beginning Weight: 304
    Pre-Op Weight: 292

1st Weight Goal: 265 [ ] (12/30/12)
    2nd Weight Goal: 235 [] Halfway! (03/08/13)
    3rd Weight Goal: 214 [] (06/14/13)
    4th Weight Goal: 200 [ ] (10/15/13)
    5th Weight Goal: 175 [ ] ( / / )
    Final Weight Goal: 155 [ ] ( / / )

2. Gastric Sleeve Surgery With Weight Loss Agents
    I have had a gastric sleeve.