Surgeon
    Dr. Chebli
    Said "Thanks" 72 Times
    Was Thanked 20 Times in 16 Posts
    Said "Welcome to Gastric Sleeve" 109 Times
    Blog Entries

Default Identity crisis?

Hey all,
    Feeling kinda off with my journey at this point. I'm down 34 and am 6weeks out...others I work with say they can see the difference in my face...others who have weight issues say they can see it over all...me...why can't I see it? Why am I mentally struggling with how I look and feel? I ran into a major mental block with puréed foods ( I'm a nurse for Pete's sake I should have this diet thing down right?). I'm tired of talking about my eating habits to my friends and husband cause I don't want to seem self centered or boring...frankly I'm sick of thinking about what I can and can't eat all the time...I'm also tired of pretending to be "normal"...we met up with distant family recently and went out to lunch...a burger place...I ordered cottage cheese and chili...didn't eat but 2 spoonfuls (it was gross not like we'd do if we were at home lets just say) and everyone else is eating whatever they want cause they either don't have to or don't want to watch their health. I also have this fear inside saying "we'll,I've lost this weight before and it's only 34 lbs. what if I gain it back...what if I don't reach my goal...what if I can't get passed this point?" Most of everyone I work with and all my family not my husbands knows about my surgery...my work knows so they could help me lift and such and my fam cause their my fam and supportive...my husbands side I don't know that well seeing we've been married only 10 months and I'm not an open book person to them. I didn't know if anyone else out there had similar feelings of fear and I guess failure and the whole not seeing the changes in my body or in me...one thing I do notice is that I do hold this change in my tummy very close to me and am becoming more private about it...it is a very personal journey I think and a journey no one other