Welcome guest, you have 1 message! Register

Gastric Sleeve Member
    Last Activity
    05-15-2016 05:21 AM
    Said "Thanks" 0 Times
    Was Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Said "Welcome to Gastric Sleeve" 0 Times

Default New-Bee looking for advice

Hi all, I am new to this sight and I am considering the sleeve procedure. I looked into this about a year ago and decided it was way too expensive, bariatric surgery is specifically excluded from my insurance coverage. A year has gone by and every time I go to my primary care doctor I have gained more weight even though in my mind I have cut down on what I have been eating. I am 56, 5' 6", and currently weigh about 275 pounds. I am single, have no family near me and really don't have any friends, so basically don’t have anyone to help support me through this. I do work but don't want to tell anyone at work about the surgery because I don't want to hear their opinions. I think I have decided to go ahead with the surgery but I keep trying to talk myself out of it because of the big financial burden it will place on me, the risks of the surgery, and because it flat out scares me.

I am currently very healthy despite my weight and the only thing I have is high cholesterol. I had a total knee replacement 3 years ago and the weight has just been piling on since then. I have been trying to do a lot of research and gather as much information as possible before I make this decision. I have spoken with a surgery center here where I live and have scheduled the initial doctor's visit for next Friday; the 13th as it turns out...maybe that should be a sign. I won't have to go through the normal problems that most people face with insurance so I could be looking at a surgery date in June sometime.

So here are some of the questions that I am looking for answers too: