Surgeon
    Dr Adair
    Last Activity
    07-31-2018 02:11 PM
    Said "Thanks" 54 Times
    Was Thanked 36 Times in 22 Posts
    Said "Welcome to Gastric Sleeve" 47 Times

Unhappy How do you handle?

I had a co-worker tell me today that she is scared for me with this surgery. When I asked why she said because she has seen so many people who have failed with it (one of those being another co-worker of ours who eats whatever she wants) and that she sees people so sick from it. Then another co-worker chipped in and said "yeah, they are either pooping or puking". I work in a hospital that does the bariatric surgery so we know a lot of people that have had it. Some have failed and some have succeeded. I should also note that these two co-workers are skinny minnies who don't have to worry about being overweight. It's just frustrating to me and scares me a little when they say that stuff.

Has anyone else ever had this issue? If so, how do you handle it? I did tell them that I've seen the question posed many times on this forum as well as FB groups asking if anyone has regretted getting this surgery. Almost all people comment their only regret was that they did not get it sooner.

Thanks all...just need some encouraging words and had to vent a little.

Jenn

2. Gastric Sleeve Surgery With Weight Loss Agents
    I have had a gastric sleeve.
    Name
    Ann2
    Surgery date
    08/18/2014
    Surgeon
    n.a.
    Said "Thanks" 5,839 Times
    Was Thanked 5,052 Times in 2,720 Posts
    Said "Welcome to Gastric Sleeve" 3,616 Times
    Blog Entries

Default Re: How do you handle?

Two words:

Fuck. Them.

Consult: 235 lbs
    My and doc's preop diet: 216 -19 lbs
    M1 postop 205 -30
    M2 193 -42
    M3 184 -51
    M4 174 -61
    M5 167 -68
    M6 162 -73
    M7 156 -79
    M8 151 -84
    M9 148 -87
    M10 146 -89
    M11 144 -91
    M12 143 -92
    M13 142 -93
    M14 140 -95
    M15 139 -96
    M16 137 -98
    M17 135 -100

First Surgiversary post