Surgeon
    Dr. Alanis
    Last Activity
    02-19-2013 09:27 PM
    Said "Thanks" 0 Times
    Was Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Said "Welcome to Gastric Sleeve" 0 Times

Question Pregnancy HELP!

Hello All! This is my first time posting. I have my surgery on 5/31/2012. I am now 29 weeks pregnant. I have 4 1/2 year old triplets- we did 4 years of fertility treatments to get pregnant with them. We were told we would never have kids naturally. Ha! I actually found out I was pregnant during my annual exam. Needless to say, this pregnancy was not planned. I know it is not wise to get pregnant this quickly after surgery. We determined I got pregnant a month after surgery.

This pregnancy has been full of complications. My triplet pregnancy wasn't easy either, so it is not known whether the complications are due to the sleeve or me just not being a good incubator.

I have continued to lose weight throughout the pregnancy, but it is slow. Pre-surgery I was at 287. Today I am at 235. The baby is continuing to grow on schedule.

My question is this: for any of you who have gotten pregnant after the sleeve, how was the nausea in the last trimester? I have been nauseated the entire pregnancy--the doctor even put me on mediation to help stop throwing up. But, since Christmas, I have been hospitalized 3 times to get IV fluids because I have been so dehydrated. I go through a phase- usually 1 week of constantly throwing up everything, then I go get fluids, feel better for 2-3 days, then back to the throwing up.

My doctor thinks that it might be due to the sleeve- now that the baby is growing she is pushing the stomach around... I don't know. Any comments or advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Megan

2. Gastric Sleeve Surgery With Weight Loss Agents
    Gastric Sleeve Member OOOWEEBABY!'s Avatar
    I have had a gastric sleeve.
    Name
    Patty
    Surgery date
    08/10/2012
    Surgeon
    Dr. Arun Rao
    Said "Thanks" 91 Times
    Was Thanked 115 Times in 101 Posts