I have not had a gastric sleeve.
    Name
    Laura
    Last Activity
    10-15-2013 05:53 PM
    Said "Thanks" 17 Times
    Was Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    Said "Welcome to Gastric Sleeve" 18 Times

Default Preparing to change my eating habits.....

Hi everyone - I'm new here and have not been sleeved yet. I am just getting started on my journey and am waiting to hear from Kaiser on my acceptance to the pre-op classes. I've been doing tons of research and understand that I will need to lose aprx 10% of my current body weight prior to receiving approval for the surgery (per Kaiser's requirements), and also go on a liquid diet for aprx 2 weeks prior to the surgery. Because I am in the very beginning stages of this process, I was curious as to whether it is advisable for me to start making small changes things now so that it's easier to do it once I enter the classes in early April. For example, I have begun to drink a lot more water every day and take sips about every 15 minutes or so (I have a timer that reminds me). I've also started to eat all my protein in my meals first, reduced portion sizes by 1/2 and chew each bite 10 - 15 times and slow down between each bite. These small changes have actually already started to make a difference because I have noticed a change in the way my clothes are fitting already! They are small changes but hey, every little bit helps right?

I was curious if anyone had begun to make changes before they were "required to pre-op? And if yes, what methods did you use? For example, did you replace one meal with a protein shake? If yes what shakes did you try? Also, I have heard that vitamins and supplements will be required post-op, several times a day. Is this true? If yes, would it be advantegeous to start taking those vitamins and supplements now so that I am in the habit of taking them?