Welcome guest, you have 1 message! Register

View RSS Feed

Shannon'sVSG

Bipolar Disorder and Weight Loss Surgery

Rate this Entry
I have bipolar disorder. And while many of you may think that means I am quite simply insanity defined, the truth of the matter is this: I have a chemical imbalance that triggers emotional responses - sometimes at inopportune times. While my behavioral patterns attempt to lend themselves to sway me to make irrational decisions in my life, I fight hard everyday to do the right thing and to ensure that I am on track with who I chose to be in this life. In short, I do not let this disorder define me. I am living with it, but I refuse to allow it to consume me.

Having this disorder is not unlike other disorders. It requires me to maintain said chemical levels through the use of medicinal aids in order to function in a manner suitable to everyday life. When I try to wean off of these medications (and I have tried in the past,) the results can often times be detrimental to my health. I mention this not as a means of garnering sympathy, rather because I know that there are others much like myself who live with this disorder and are on similar medications with adverse side effects who have undergone VSG and are fighting an uphill battle.