Welcome guest, you have 1 message! Register

View RSS Feed

Cadoodle

11 day old sleever:)

Rate this Entry
This is my first time to visit and join this site.I had 2 weeks of pre op liquid diet with Premier shakes, bone broth, clear broths, popcycles, and jello. I had my surgery on August 7, stayed in the hospital one extra day because of low oxygen levels even using my cpap, and came home Wednesday Aug 9th. My hospital stay was not bad at all, except for the fact I could not have a drink of water the whole day or that night. I vaguely remember telling the nurse I thought the doctor was "terribly mean not making me think I could drink after the surgery and STILL not letting me!" My husband and daughter laughed and I thought "they think I am high!" My doctor took great care of me though and had me do a swallow test (EGD) early the next morning. Then I had my first drink. Relief. Since arriving home I have been allowed to have cream soup, cream of wheat, protein shakes, yogurt, jello, popsicle, bone broth, and regular broth. This has been a welcome addition since my surgery date had been changed 3 times and I had been on week 1 of the liquid diet THREE times prior to surgery. My checkup day is Aug. 23 and I think pureed foods will be added.

I guess one thing I may be doing wrong is this. I have been told to stop fluids 30 minutes before a meal and do not drink fluids again until 30-60 minutes after a meal. Sometimes my meal includes a yogurt, jello, and a shake. I always finish the shake to get the 30 grams of protein and eat the other within reason, I worry a bit because I can eat the yogurt and jello and stop eating because I think I surely have had enough to satisfy. But since I eat it all slowly, I do not feel uncomfortable. I worry that this may be too much in one "feeding". Any ideas or suggestions?