Welcome guest, you have 1 message! Register

View RSS Feed

Shirl

13 Month Post-Op & 75lbs gone!

Rate this Entry
I am chugging along, and absolutely no regrets for choosing this path.

I am still learning and adjusting to being a "sleeved person" in a non-sleeved world. Eating is less complicated now, not that it really was, I am able to eat just about anything. I still eat in small portions just like my nutritionist taught me... serve yourself a 1/4 cup and you still feel hungry get another 1/4 cup.

My lifelong adjustment now is that I can easily eat 3 oz of lean meat or chicken breast if I eat more which often times I do, it is never another 3 oz. So I always start at 3oz of protein, then take a few more bites so I can eat vegetables and or grains before I get that too full feeling. I do not ever overfill my plate, and try very consciously to stay aware of the portion(s) I serve myself.

Junk food is ALWAYS around me! I am proud that 95% of the time I say "no thanks" or that I do not have resentment or that I do not feel deprived because it is the God(dess) honest truth that I do not! It is not a far fetch truth to say that "I eat what I want when I want it, and how I want it" (tinman).

I am fully committed to an active lifestyle, and I am not a gym rat by any stretch of the meaning, but I do strive to walk most days and gym 3x a week. This week alone I have walked over ten miles in different outings, have gone swimming twice and kayaking! I have danced (zumbaying) almost every day around the house.

I did not start measuring until I read a post here titled "Tape your Butt" and that was about two weeks post op. I had lost close to 20lbs prior to surgery so I cannot imagine how much bigger I was. YIKES!