Welcome guest, you have 1 message! Register

View RSS Feed

Shirl

4-Month Post Op Dietary Tweaks

Rate this Entry
Quote Originally Posted by Mbenson5 View Post

Lol, ladies! I am no expert on this low carb thing, just learned what has worked for me in the past. If I ate 100 carbs a day, I would never lose weight but would gain. I still watch it, but will give in and have a cookie, brownie or whatever on some days. Having lasagna tonight. I just don't have a ton of it. Like 2 cookies rather than 10. The sleeve PLUS developing better habits is key to this!

On my days I stay strict low carb, my day might look something like this:

BR-coffee with sugar-free creamer, bacon and scrambled eggs with heavy whipping cream. I sometimes add cheese-lots of it! lol

LU- leftover meat of any kind, a few stir-fried vegetables. This helps when I actually cook and have leftovers!

DI- Some type of meat and stir-fried veggies with cheese

Evening- later when I am watching tv or whatever, I will save my carbs for a Breyers Carb-smart bar ot Danin light and Fit Greek yogurt with cut up strawberries.

Snacks - I generally stick with nuts, cheese, or berries. I have pretty much given up snacking, because I found myself raeching for them even if I am not hungry. That is honestly pretty much it. I do this for about 2 wweks, and then take a 3-4 day break. One time, I dropped 10 lbs in that time-I literally felt my clothes getting bigger at one point. That was all the motivation I needed to keep going. lol.

This is only what works for me, so no promises.

Hugs to you!
Melissa, between you and veteran sleevers (to me) like RehabNurse, Kindle, Ann, Sandra and the forum member whose NUT said if she wanted to lose 2lbs a week she had to keep her daily calories at 1000, and she had to burn 500 calories a day, as well as all my newbie sleevers and everyone else, I feel much more confident and supported, and I don't feel so alone in this journey.