Welcome guest, you have 1 message! Register

View RSS Feed

Ella-Ann35

9 months - goal met!

Rate this Entry
I'm not very good at posting much, but there isn't a day that goes by that I don't read and read on here. This site, and all of you, have been invaluable to me.

I'm not one of those who were excited and anxious to start this journey. It was a whole year from my first visit with the surgeon to the date of surgery and that was fine with me, the longer the wait, the better. I always questioned if I was doing the right thing.

Today, 9 months later, I've lost 80 lbs. ,met my goal, and wearing a size 10, a size I haven't been since before my pregnancies, more than 30 years ago. So do I have regrets? Absolutely not! There is no way I could have done this on my own. And I certainly had tried so many times.

Some of what I've learned and would like to share: For those of you starting out, things absolutely do get better. I was miserable for a good two weeks and probably didn't feel like myself for 6 months. It takes time. And the learning process is something that continues to this day and I think always will. I've certainly made mistakes along the way - eating too much, not eating enough, eating too fast, not drinking enough, etc. but I've learned from every mistake, and I'm still learning.