Welcome guest, you have 1 message! Register

View RSS Feed

This Rollercoaster has Been Derailed!

How I Got On The Rollercoaster and Why I Derailed It

Rate this Entry
Forgive the longevity of this post, but it gives a lot of details.

I have NEVER been small. I have a medium to large frame and have never been "thin" in my life but was VERY active as a kid. I played soccer and softball and was never home, always out playing with friends. When I was 12, my mother (single parent) suffered a debilitating stroke and I became the head of the household, for all intents and purposes. Not being able to get to my extracurricular activities, I had to drop them.

Because of her limited mobility, my mother had me do a lot of the shopping. Send a teenager shopping and what do you get? Junk, junk, and more junk. I weighed 145 lbs. my freshman year of high school (1989) and 155 by the time I graduated (1993), purely by staying active with marching band and theater and having an adolescent's metabolism. That increased to 165 by the time I was 19 (1994).

I had to fight, hard, to lose enough weight to pass the physical requirements to enlist in the US Navy. My recruiter would take me to workout three times a week and would push me to run laps and lift weights. We both knew I'd never make the weight cut, but if I could get my BMI down enough I could get a weight waiver. I entered basic training in January 1995 weighing 159 and came out in March 1995 at 155. It was only a four pound difference, but I was in the best shape I had been in my entire life. I felt good about myself and, for the first time, the depression I had been battling since adolescence was not a factor in my life.

That didn't last long, however, and within 6 months I had gained it back, with interest. By the time I left the service (1998) I weight in the neighborhood of 190 lbs. My depression had started to come back some, but was still subtle enough to hide.