Welcome guest, you have 1 message! Register

View RSS Feed

aboutime4me

Day 609 after sleeve surgery and LOVING IT!

Rate this Entry
It's the end of another calendar year for all of us and I just wanted to share my personal experience and journey with my best friend, my sleeve. I was sleeved 609 days ago and am absolutely in LOVE with my best friend!

I dropped 95 lbs in about 11 months after surgery and have been easily maintaining my weight loss within 2-3 lbs of my lowest weight ever since.

My surgery was uncomplicated, I had not real after problems and pretty steadily dropped the pounds over the following months. I am at my high school weight, which was when I graduated in 1976. I'm 55 years old and have more energy and stamina now than before surgery, that's for darned sure.

I have finished doing a radio commercial, a tv commercial and youtube video for my surgeon that will be aired some time here in Las Vegas within the next few months. I've also done a magazine ad and have come across my before/after picture advertising my surgeon while searching the web. It has been one awesome journey and I would NEVER go back!!!!

For those wondering if you should take this step...YES YES YES! Squarely looking at the possible complications post surgery compared to a probably shortened life span because of my morbid obesity, along with the high cholesterol and blood pressure issues I was having...the only thing I faced was most likely an early grave. Now, all that has changed and I have more than a fighting chance to reach my dad's age who is currently 91 and a half years young!

I've referred two people to my surgeon and they have since had surgery: one with the sleeve and the other with the lapband.

Yes, life is truly what you make it! I thank God each and every day that I was blessed with having the insurance that covered the bulk of the cost. Without it, I would still be morbidly obese and getting heavier by the minutes.