Welcome guest, you have 1 message! Register

View RSS Feed

bikrchk

A Chefs Perspective

Rate this Entry
Quote Originally Posted by chefjake99 View Post
Hello there all. I wanted to write something in response to many comments made by people to threads that I have started in the past. I apologize that it has taken me this long to respond. I have been hesitant to voice my opinions for many reasons: everyone is different, I am not a doctor or nutritionist (although I have taken classes in nutrition as part of culinary school), and some people may take offense to what I have to say. In other posts I have gotten responses saying things like "what is your diet", "your a chef, what is your plan", etc. Again I have hesitated to respond for the above reasons. I don't write a lot here but come here when I need some encouragement or am struggling with something, I am always humbled and uplifted by the great and courageous people here. I am just over 5 months post op and have lost about 102 lbs (depending on the day and time of day). I am proud of what I have accomplished so far but need to continue my focus and would like to lose about 50 - 60 more pounds. So theres the background of all this... with that said here is my so called two cents. As a chef I have never been more challenged, I am around, touching, smelling, sometimes eating food all day. 70-80 hours a week. I really don't know how I have overcome that to this point and sometimes I lose the battle. Its a struggle for me every day. But like I said I have some very strong opinions about the diet aspect of this journey and what brings success and what doesn't. So here it goes.