09/30/2013
    Surgeon
    Dr. Ariel Ortiz
    Last Activity
    08-29-2022 08:38 PM
    Said "Thanks" 31 Times
    Was Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Said "Welcome to Gastric Sleeve" 8 Times

Question Hypoglycemia pre opt for the gastric sleeve is it a safe surgery to do if already hypoglycemic??

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the gastric sleeve community and I really am in need of knowing if someone else is like me out there who wants to have the Gastric Sleeve done but I'm hypoglycemic so it scares me . So I have been doing research for about 9 months now about the gastric sleeve and I know that it is something I would like to do my BMI Is 38. So my concern is what happens after wards if your hypoglycemic and you have the surgery done how do you maintain a good blood sugar if you cant eat anything after your surgery while in the hospital ? then they say you cant eat anything for three weeks after that then what happens to keep you blood sugar up? and then after you get past that successfully with out any low blood sugar episodes ( which I hate it makes me so sick feeling and dizzy , confused , shaky ) I ordered some unjury protein shake mix and im going to test myself and do a 7 day liquid diet to see if I can do it with out any blood sugar problems and go from there . I just really want some educated people or experienced people who have dealt with hypoglycemia BEFORE surgery to explain how they feel now ? do they regret the surgery? Do they love it ? Did it maybe make the hypoglycemia go away ( because I heard that could happen which would be amazing!) Just any info from someone who is will to help me decide if it something that is safe for someone with this kind of medical problem already.

Thanks in Advance for the help and advise!

2. Gastric Sleeve Surgery With Weight Loss Agents
    Gastric Sleeve Member msnycia2u2013's Avatar
    I have had a gastric sleeve.
    Surgery date
    07/10/2013
    Surgeon
    Dr. Bruce
    Last Activity
    01-18-2014 11:28 PM